The School of Chemistry at University of Hyderabad is among the leading centres in the country for chemical education and research. The School has been receiving grants under the Special Assistance Program (SAP) of the University Grants Commission (UGC) since 1984 and is currently designated as a Centre for Advanced Studies. It has also received support from the Department of Science and Technology (DST) under the FIST program starting from 2001 which is now in phase-II. Individual research groups also receive generous support from various agencies in India (UGC, DST, CSIR, DBT, DRDO..) and abroad. Several members of the faculty have won recognition in the form of awards and fellowships of various academic bodies both within and outside the country. Our masters students do well in national level competitive examinations and several of them go on to pursue a research career either in the School or at similar academic institutions. Some of our alumini occupy important positions in academia and industry in India as well as abroad.

    Up-coming symposium: 8th International Collaborative and Cooperative Chemistry Symposium, 18-19 Dec, 2017

    Dr. Murali Banavoth is conferred with the Prestigious Young Scientist Award-2018 from 'The International Society for Energy, Environment and Sustainability' (ISEES)


For admission procedures for M.Sc./Ph.D/Distance education/refresher courses consult the university website. For visiting programs and winter/summer schools consult the networking resource centre website.